Talbot Jennings Scripts, 1926-1960

Overview of the Collection

Talbot Jennings, 1894-1985
Talbot Jennings Scripts
1926-1960 (inclusive)
1 cubic foot
Collection Number
MG186 (collection)
Motion picture and television scripts (22 items), ten of which are by Jennings. Among works included are 77 Sunset Strip, Rawhide, The Alaskans, Romeo and Juliet, Anna and the King of Siam, and No more frontier.
University of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives
Special Collections and Archives
University of Idaho Library
875 Perimeter Drive
MS 2350
Moscow, ID
Telephone: 2088850845
Funding for encoding this finding aid was provided through a grant awarded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Biographical NoteReturn to Top

Talbot Jennings was born in Shoshone, Idaho, August 25, 1894, the son of the Episcopal archdeacon of Idaho and Wyoming. He graduated from Nampa High School. After serving in the Army in World War I, where he fought in five major battles, he attended the University of Idaho where he graduated Phi Beta Kappa in 1924. He attended Harvard University where he earned a master's degree, and then attended the Yale Drama School. He received an honorary doctorate from the University of Idaho in 1939.

While at the University of Idaho he was president of the Associated Students. He also wrote Light on the Mountains, a state history set to music, which was first presented by students in 1923. He was editor of the yearbook, Gem of the Mountains, and the English Department literary publication Blue Bucket.

He was the author of 17 screen plays, including Mutiny on the Bounty, Anna and the King of Siam, The Good Earth, and Northwest Passage. He also wrote the screenplay for the 1936 version of Romeo and Juliet. In addition to movie screenplays he wrote for several television series including "77 Sunset Strip" and "The Alaskans". He was twice nominated for an academy award.

Talbot Jennings died in East Glacier, Montana on May 30, 1985.

Administrative InformationReturn to Top


Of the twenty-two scripts in this collection, only ten are by Talbot Jennings; several have no known author and may be by Jennings. The remaining scripts were possibly written by colleagues of Jennings and sent to him to critique. The plays are in alphabetical order by title, the title in parentheses is the title of the television series for which the script was written.

Acquisition Information

The script collection of Talbot Jennings was donated to the University of Idaho Library by Mr. Jennings in 1960. The scripts were originally dispersed among the book collections, but were removed in 1986 and 1989 and added to the manuscripts accessions. These two groups were brought together and processed by Judith Nielsen in February 1990.

Detailed Description of the CollectionReturn to Top

Description Dates
Abra-Cadaver. (77 Sunset Strip). Teleplay by Talbot Jennings, based on a novel by Christopher Monig 1958
Anna and the King of Siam. Screenplay by Talbot Jennings and Sally Benson 1945
The Assassin. (Mr. Garlund). By Jack Patrick 1960
The Brothers. (The Riders). By Les Crutchfield 195-?
High Over the Atlantic l96-?
Incident of Fear in the Streets. (Rawhide). By Fred Freiberger 1959
Incident of the Misplaced Indians. (Rawhide). By David Victor and Herbert Little, Jr. 1959
Incident of the Power and the Plow. (Rawhide). By Fred Freiberger 1958
Island in the Swamp. (Maverick). By Montgomery Pittman 1958
Lovely Lady, Pity Me. (77 Sunset Strip). Teleplay by Douglas Heyes and James O'Hanlon, based on the novel by Roy Huggins 1958
Merchant of Venice. Adapted by Talbot Jennings and John H. Cushman from the play by William Shakespeare 1927
No More Frontier. By Talbot Jennings 1930?
The Promise. (Dick Powell's Zane Grey Theatre). Television script by James Leiker, based on the novel by Zane Grey 1957
Riot at Arroyo Seco. (Cheyenne). Story by Arthur W. Silver and Richard Wormser 1959
Romeo and Juliet. Arranged for production at the University of Idaho by Talbot Jennings and John H. Cushman, based on the play by William Shakespeare 1926
Romeo and Juliet, adapted by Talbot Jennings from the play by William Shakespeare
Spanish Grant. (Bonanza) 1959
Starvation Stampede. (The Alaskans). By Talbot Jennings 1959
Stranger at Soldier Springs. By Talbot and Elisabeth Jennings 1957
A Tale on Consequences. By Talbot and Elisabeth Jennings 195-?
Their Desolate Places: a play in one act. By Talbot Jennings 1927
Trail North. (The Alaskans) 1959

Names and SubjectsReturn to Top

Subject Terms

  • Screenwriters
  • Television scripts

Corporate Names

  • University of Idaho -- Alumni and alumnae.


  • Playwright and screenwriter; graduated from University of Idaho, 1924.

Other Creators

  • Personal Names
    • Jennings, Talbot--Archives.