Montana Legislative Assembly (10th: 1907) records, 1907

Overview of the Collection

Montana. Legislative Assembly.
Montana Legislative Assembly (10th: 1907) records
1907 (inclusive)
.2 linear feet of shelf space
Collection Number
LR 10
Collection contains the records of the Montana 10th Legislative Assembly.
Montana Historical Society, Library & Archives
Montana Historical Society Research Center Archives
225 North Roberts
PO Box 201201
Helena MT
Telephone: 4064442681
Fax: 4064445297
Access Restrictions

Collection is open for research.

Funding for encoding this finding aid was provided through a grant awarded by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Historical NoteReturn to Top

The Montana State Legislature is made up of two chambers, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Constitution of Montana limits the size of the Senate to no fewer than 40 and no more than 50 members and the size of the House of Representatives to no fewer than 80 and no more than 100 members. Each house is responsible for choosing its officers, creating committees and establishing its own rules. The Montana Legislature meets for 90 days every odd numbered year, beginning the first Monday in January, or the following Wednesday if the first Monday is New Years Day. The first State Legislature convened on November 23, 1889, fifteen days after Montana became a state. Each following Legislature has been numbered sequentially.

The 10th Montana Legislature met from January 7th to March 7th, 1907. The leaders of the Senate were Edwin Norris (D-President), and Benjamin White (R-President Pro Tempore). The leaders of the House were E.W. King (R-Speaker), and W.R. Allen (R-Speaker Pro Tempore).

Sources:The Constitution of the State of Montana as adopted by the Constitutional Convention March 22, 1972, and as ratified by the people, June 6, 1972, referendum no. 68, "A GUIDE TO THE MONTANA LEGISLATURE," The Montana Legislature,; “Montana Legislative Leadership 1889 – Present”.

Content DescriptionReturn to Top

The records of the Montana 10th Legislative Assembly consist of House and Senate memorial resolutions regarding A. Sterne Blake; and House Bill 49 concerning a memorial to Captain James Williams in the Capitol Building.

Use of the CollectionReturn to Top

Restrictions on Use

The Montana Historical Society is the owner of the materials in the Research Library and makes available reproductions for research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Research Library before any reproduction use. The Society does not necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation

[item description and date]. Montana Legislative Assembly (10th: 1907) records, 1907. Legislative Records 10. [box and folder number]. Montana Historical Society Research Center. Archives. Helena, Montana.

Administrative InformationReturn to Top


The collection is organized into two series, House of Representatives Bills (arranged numerically), and House and Senate Joint Memorial Resolutions (arranged numerically).

Location of Collection


Acquisition Information

Acquisition information available upon request.

Processing Note

Bill Summers processed the collection in 1988

Detailed Description of the CollectionReturn to Top

House of Representatives BillsReturn to Top

Container(s) Description Dates
1 / 1
Bill No. 49

House and Senate Joint Memorial ResolutionsReturn to Top

Container(s) Description Dates
1 / 2
re A. Sterne Blake

Names and SubjectsReturn to Top

Subject Terms

  • Bills, Legislative--Montana.
  • Legislative bodies--Montana--Committees.

Geographical Names

  • Montana--Politics and government.