Koo Nimo recordings: Osabarima & Odonson Nkoaa, Undated  PDF

Overview of the Collection

Amponsah, Daniel, 1934-
Koo Nimo recordings: Osabarima & Odonson Nkoaa
1 audiotapes  :  1 audio cassette (Type II, Dolby B); Duration: 1:05:00
Collection Number
Koo Nimo's commercial recordings titled "Osabarima" and "Odonson Nkoaa", donated to the Archives by Koo Nimo.
University of Washington Ethnomusicology Archives
University of Washington
Ethnomusicology Archives
Box 353450
Seattle, WA
Telephone: 206-543-0974
Access Restrictions

Access is restricted.


Biographical NoteReturn to Top

Daniel "Koo Nimo" Amponsah, is an Asante "living legend" who performs the old and the new traditions of Ghana. His music brings to life the meaning of the Sankofa image, a symbolic bird of Asante, looking backwards with one foot forward to the future. Koo Nimo's musical background began at age nineteen when he was teaching drumming, guitar and brass band music in his village of Foase. Trained in chemistry, he worked at the University of Science and Technology in Kumasi as chief laboratory technician until his retirement in 1998. During this time he was an active musician and public figure, and was also the first Ghanaian to produce a compact disc of his music, Osabarima. In 1957, the year of Ghana's independence, he formed "Adadam Agofomma" (Going Back to Roots) ensemble. He was the president of the Musicians Union for 10 years and became a recipient of the Grand Medal for Lifetime Service to Ghana from the Head of State. Koo Nimo has been a source of inspiration for many musicians through the force of his character and his creative blend of Ghanaian musical forms, Spanish guitar style, and jazz chord progressions. He has performed internationally, at Lincoln Center in New York, Australia, U.S. and Britain. He can also be seen in several documentaries: "Crossing Over", "Repercussions" and the latest, "Dr. Gates's Travels through Africa".

- University of Washington School of Music Adowa Music and Dance flyer, May 22, 2000

Content DescriptionReturn to Top

Items 1-8 are the contents of "Osabarima," Adasa Records ADCD 102 (compact disc), 1990 (recorded in 1976 in Ghana); but this recording appears to have been dubbed from the original record (can hear disc noise); items 9-14 are contents of "Odonson Nkoaa" (no publication information available)

Contents summary: palm wine music.

Documentation: Contents list

Administrative InformationReturn to Top

Detailed Description of the CollectionReturn to Top

1 audiotape : Audio Cassette; Tracks: 14
Contents: 1. Aburokyire Abrabo (4:59) 2. Owusu Se M'amma (4:00) 3. Otuo Akyeampong (3:51) 4. Osabarima (4:44) 5. Naa Densua (6:01) 6. Odonson (2:19) 7. Akora Dua Kube (4:18) 8. Onipa Behwe Yie (3:06) 9. Odonson Medley - Atene (17:39) 10. Asamado (7:32) 11. Wiase Nsem Dooso (8:09) 12. Nocturne (Tribute to Ebenezer Laing) 13. Mepapa Wohen Ni (3:35) 14. Damfo M'abre Kwa (Excerpt) (1:03)

Names and SubjectsReturn to Top

  • Subject Terms :
  • Ethnomusicology
  • Guitar
  • Highlife (Music)
  • Music--Ghana
  • Palm Wine Music
  • Geographical Names :
  • Africa
  • Ghana
  • West Africa
  • Form or Genre Terms :
  • Sound recordings
  • Other Creators :
    • Personal Names :
    • Amponsah, Daniel, 1934- (performer)